Tags

The time to recover the cat gym had approached and I wanted to get it done before my medical procedure the following day.  I am still dealing with the thyroid cancer issue.   They use it more like a scratching post then a gym.

The Cat gym needs fixing again!

The Cat gym needs fixing again!

This will be about the 6th time I have done this cat gym.  After having done it so many times, I can get it apart and upholstered quickly but the putting it back together is not easy.

I gathered my tools:

My drill for the project of repairing the cat gym

My drill for the project of repairing the cat gym

More tools to use for this project - repairing cat gym

More tools to use for this project – repairing cat gym

Always make sure your drill is charged.  I also get my hubby’s drill out and make sure he has it charged.  Sometimes his works better in tight spaces.  I suggest you have a good drill bit that fits the drill.  We didn’t and it was not a good thing for this project.  We struggled.  So that is on my list to make sure I have a good drill bit.  The long screws in the posts through the base are hard to get in and out.

Top part removed by taking out the screws.

Top part removed by taking out the screws.

The Top Part

The Top Part

In the photo above I take the screws out of the top of the short post that hold the top round part on.  They are on the bottom of the Top part.  I remove the screws holding the Top Park to the taller post from the inside through the opening there.

Now I remove the cradle screws from the posts.

Removing the posts from the cradle.

Removing the posts from the cradle.

Posts removed from the base and cradle

Posts removed from the base

Sneakers is checking this out!  I only take apart what I need to.  I leave the cradle attached and just go after the posts that need recovering.

Sneakers checks out the progress

Sneakers checks out the progress

The Electric stapler was the best buy for this project.

The Electric stapler was the best buy for this project.

I really like the electric stapler I bought for about $35.00.  It is so much easier to use then my handheld one that is not electric.  I also use the hammer to make sure the staples go in correctly through the new carpet into the wood.  You need the right size of staples:  9/16th

The proper staples

The proper staples

You have to peel off the old ragged carpet and put on the new pieces which you cut using a utility knife.  Just be careful you don’t cut yourself.  I use the bigger post to make a straight edge cut with the utility knife.  Keep your knees out of the way you might slip.  I use the old pieces of carpet as a template.  Any carpet store will have remnants but I use Flynns in Lynnwood, WA.  They really have great pieces.  They sometimes give them to me free or charge me $10.00. Still a good deal.

Use the flat head screwdriver to removed and peel out the old staples.  Use the pliers to pull them out if they are giving trouble and move the used carpet from the post.  Make sure you get all the pieces of the staples out they can be sharp if broken.

A mangled carpet on a post

A mangled carpet on a post

This time I asked my hubby to help me put it back together because it is hard to hold the posts steady and level by yourself.  See my other posts on this blog about this topic.  This was just a mini refresher post so go see the others for more detail.

One more thing, do not use your vacuum cleaner to clean up the rug fuzz and pieces it will clog it.  Believe me I know. HA!  You can use the vac or broom for the rug sand.

DO NOT USE YOUR VAC, pick the fuzz up by hand.

DO NOT USE YOUR VAC, pick the fuzz up by hand.

So the process takes about 2 hours to gather tools, take the cat gym apart, put it back together and then clean up and put things away.  So turn on the TV or some music and take your time.  It will save some bucks!

