Tags

,

Sunning themselves

Sunning themselves

Ebony was 17 pounds and Sneakers was 15 pounds when they visited the vet last year in 2011, otherwise they received healthy exams.

The vet made a face and suggested I cut back, she was targeting Ebony.

I got sidetracked and was faced with a bit of a thyroid cancer scare and then I got a bad, bad cold.  So here I am recovering at the end of January 2013 and wondering if I should try to cut them back on their food?

My understanding has been that cats don’t do well on diets?  However, I found this great article about putting cats on a diet and think it might be an easier way to go.  I like the idea of going slowly.  Since cats are creatures of habit and don’t like their routines messed up that might work.  I also like the idea of not switching their food to another brand and also cut them back on their food.  One thing at a time.  I found this to be rather interesting:

“Two to 3 extra pounds (.9 to 1.36 kilograms) for a cat is equivalent to 40 pounds (18 kilograms) for a human!”

“To stay healthy, cats should shed pounds gradually, losing no more than 0.5 to 2 percent of his total weight per week. For instance, a 20-pound (9-kilogram) cat should drop no more than about a pound (453 grams) in a month. Losing too quickly can create problems…”

http://animal.discovery.com/pets/how-to-put-your-cat-on-a-diet.htm

My other concern is that Ebony has such a sensitive stomach an can easily get upset which means he heads for the bedroom and hides out.  When he first came to live me us he was having such a time with Giardia and it took a long time to settled him down.  

I found that in the beginning he reacted to fish in the food, so I reduced that ingredient as much as I could but I find that most cats foods including the fancy so-called healthy food emphasize fish as an ingredient.  Grrr…!

Trying to get Ebony to eat greens has been a problem.  He doesn’t like wheat grass like Sneakers does but he finally started to show and interest in eating catnip which I try to give him daily.  It is a green.

The other product I use is the Greenies hairball treats that seem to help.  I put that with their morning meal a couple times a week.  Ebony and Sneakers both like them.  I am not getting as much of the hairball throw up that I used to.

Sneakers has his own problems in that he has very fine hair and it gets mats if we are not diligent in brushing him.  He has become very eager to get brushed by my hubby.  So about twice a week or more Sneakers gets a good brushing.  It seems to be working in controlling the mats and getting his loose hair under control.

Sneakers is more active during the day than Ebony; however, Ebony is better.  Indoor cats are “lazy” as the vet said to me.  I am not very good at playing with them because they didn’t seem to be interested but that might be something I could try again and reevaluate.  I need to get them moving more.

So we need to consider:

1.  Their age – both are 13 years old.

2.  Their level of exercise and movement – needs some improvement.

3.  Their sensitive tummies – allergies

4.  Hairball problems – brushing both not just Sneakers.

5.  Other???

Seems complicated, well I guess it is time to make a plan to regulate

their meals better.

This article is interesting but more about a daily plan for a diet:

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/maintaining-the-perfect-cat-diet.html

