Tags

Well, Ebony has torn up the rug on the cat gym again!  He approaches it by stretching his long body and engaging his claws in it.  Sneakers has helped out as well.  Sneakers likes to climb onto the cradle and then reach up and dig his claws into it. 

Boy, am I glad they use the cat gym and not my furniture!!!!! I have literally had to take apart several couches because my other cats had ripped into them.  Yes, I have cannibalized a couch by cutting off the fabric, removing the stuffing, and taking apart the frame.  Why, well my experience is that charity organizations will not accept torn or ripped couches and chairs. 

I remember recovering my wing back chair once.  That was a tough job or course silly me did a plaid and matching that up was not easy.  So I replaced it with a stuffed rocker that rotates for $35.00 from Value Village and if they did destroy it I wouldn’t care.  When you pay a lot for a couch and have it ripped apart it is not a good thing!  Years ago I bought a Futon with a deluxe cushion and a wooden frame to stop that kind of thing from happening and it did the trick.  They went after the wing back chair…HA!

So, I am back to repairing the cat gym for the third time and I should be quite wiz at it by now.  I refer you to my posts on the process for more details and information. See below for more information.

I went up to Flynn’s Carpet Cents in Lynnwood, WA and went into the back area and found their remnant bin.  It is really big! I had to wrestle with a few pieces to get them out for they had them jammed in there but I succeeded in getting enough for two more redos.  I went up to the desk with my prizes preparing to pay but Flynn the owner said to give them to me free and hopefully I would buy carpet from them.  I did ask a bunch of questions about buying carpet to replace in my home so hopefully that was a good thing.  I had purchased area rugs from them in the past.  You won’t see anything about remnants on their website but they do have them:  http://www.carpetcents.com/ 

My husband bought me a new Ryobi drill for my birthday and it has two battery packs.  It is also lighter in weight than my other one.  I am keeping the other one for back up.  So this will be interesting to see how this new drill performs.  It is also smaller.

As for the actual fix of the cat gym for the third time it went smoothly and I was done in 2 hours.  Taking it apart was easy since I knew what I was doing.  I used my fully charged drill to remove the long screws. 

Removing the ripped carpet took a little work but that was good because it meant I had secured it with the staples really well.  I used a flat head screwdriver to remove the staples. Do make sure you get all the staples out of the wood and don’t leave pieces that break off.  I use a pliers for pulling out sharp pieces.

I used the old carpet to make my template for the new carpet and cut that out using a box cutter.  Just be careful.  I use one of the posts as a guide.  Put something underneath so you don’t cut through something precious like your wood floor.  Another rug you don’t care that much about might work. 

I took my electronic staple gun and started on the front side of the post with the rug and secured it at the top and bottom.  Before I start attaching the rug I press it where it will fold on the short part of the 2×4 post to help with making it tight on the post.  I use my knee to press it – fold it.  Makes things a little easier.  Then I slowly wrap it around the post securing at the top, sides and bottom with staples.  Once all away around I secure the edges of the rug in the center of the backside of the post where all the staple holes are and staple about an inch apart down that side.  It will be the side turned inside so the cat can’t get its claws caught.  I also use my hammer to tap each staple into the wood making it more secure.  The thickness of the rug doesn’t quite get the staples fully secured so using the hammer helps.

Go to these posts for more in detail description of how this is done – see the Archives section or categories on the right. 

  • July 24, 2010 To Repair or Not to Repair?
  • July 25, 2010 Step 1 Cat Gym Repair:  Buying Rug or Sisal?
  • August 17, 2010 Step 2 Cat Gym Repair:  Setting up!
  • August 22, 2010 Step 3 Cat Gym Repair:  Taking it Apart?
  • August 25, 2010 Step 4 Cat Gym Repair:  Removing Ripped Rug?
  • September 8, 2010 Step 5 Repairing a Cat Gym:  Reupholstering
  • September 20, 2010 Step 6 Cat Gym Repair:  Reassembling!
  • February 13, 2011 Recovering a Cat Gym/Tree…Again!  (This was the second repair of the same cat gym)

Putting it back together was a little more difficult than the other steps.  The floor piece or flat piece that the cat gym rests on holds the other pieces including the two 2×4 posts.  As you can see they are in the middle so they need something to rest on to keep them stable till secured.

 

Posts attached to flat piece

 

You have to drill through the bottom of the flat piece up into the two posts so this means you have to line up the holes.  It is not easy because the posts are centered and when you lift the flat piece up the posts don’t have anything to rest on.  So I grabbed books and a small stool and used it to rest the posts on and line up the bottom with the flat piece holes and that was not easy.  Once you get things straight the big long screws go in much better.  Another person could hold them for you.  Securing the cradle and the cubby are not a problem.  The new drill is smaller and fits inside the cubbie just fine.  I might have to build up the cradle where I drill next time it is getting weak?

As you can see from the photo I did not match up the rug like I did the last time.  Looks pretty good for a third time on fixing the posts and should last about 3 months.  Yeah I know, doing this every three months is not great but then at $100+ per cat gym it is still a savings.   I turn on the TV and watch a fun program to keep me going.  I take breaks as needed and just take my time.   The two hours is just working on the project only.  The actual time might be 3-4 if I take my time and have lunch or dinner or something to break it up.  I find that I can break the project up into section like:  taking it apart, removing the ripped rug, reupholstering the 2×4 posts, and last putting it back together.  The goal is to get it done and ready for the cats to use it again.  Remember don’t vaccum up rug pieces or you will plug the vaccum!!!

 

3rd Reupholstering Job on the Posts

The point is Ebony and Sneakers use this cat gym and they don’t seem to like to use the other large cat gym I bought them.  So in the long run a couple of hours to redo this cat gym is not bad if I can save myself a lot of money. 

I took measurements of the two 2×4 posts so I can make another set and cover them and then have them ready.  The only challenge will be putting in the screws which means drilling new holes to accept.  That will be another post.

